top of page

Flash v. Natural lighting

(google)

The most frequent question I get is “why don’t you use flash?”. I personally don’t like using flash because it gives you a harsh light. I know there are many ways to make a harsh light into a soft light but that’s how I prefer to take my pictures. It’s not wrong to use flash. Some people love to use flash and that’s okay. You can do whatever you want, however, you want.

I prefer to use natural light because it’s easier. I find it better to take advantage of the light that the sun is giving. There may be moments when the light isn’t perfect but that’s alright because you can always fix the settings to make it look like the lighting is perfect. I’ve heard a lot of people bash on those that use natural light instead of flash. Some people say that it’s because “they don’t know how to use it” or “they’re not actual photographers”. Just because they don’t use flash doesn’t mean that they don’t know how to use it. Photographers don’t NEED to use flash. Just because you don’t use flash doesn’t mean you’re a bad photographer. You can not use flash and still be the best. I’ve seen a bunch of photographers that don’t use flash and their pictures come out flawless.

Some people love using flash in their photography. Some people even live by it. They would use it all the time. It’s not wrong to use it and it definitely doesn’t mean that they don’t know how to adjust their settings. It probably means that they don’t like to use natural lighting. There’s nothing wrong with wanting to use flash. I know a bunch of professional photographers that use flash. They would use flash for weddings, graduations, etc. If you’re one of the ones that prefer flash, then I would recommend a Yongnuo Speedlite YN560 IV. It’s a wonderful universal flash. It’s very easy to use and understand.

In the end, we shouldn’t bash on others just because one uses flash and the other doesn’t. You should support the other person instead. I felt the need to talk about this because I’ve seen others being criticized for not using flash. I just feel like criticizing someone because they don’t use flash is wrong. It’s all up to you if you want to use flash or not. If you’re not comfortable with it, then don’t use it. If a professional photographer tells you that you need to use it, then don’t listen to them.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page